This morning as I was thinking what prompt to set you, a hot air balloon floated across the roof tops opposite. 
So I have used that as inspiration for this week’s prompt:

                                      …looking down, I was surprised to see…


Really get your imaginations working!

Adam Newton
7/10/2013 02:31:32 am

One day I was asked to go to a zoo so we went at 8:00 am and we got to stand in a komodo dragons pen it was really scary next we went into the creepy crawlies place where we saw beetles,ants and venomous spiders.We had some lunch then we looked at lions,tigers and polar bears.After that went to feed the baby chimpanzee looking down I was suprised to see a baby racoon hanging off my trousers it was really funny . The man asked me if I wanted to take it home to look after I was so excited it was an amzing day.

Reply
7/10/2013 04:21:53 am

When we arrived at Disney Land I looked out of our hotel window, and to my suprise there was a giant, red hot air balloon just across the lake. Later that day we decided to go for a ride in the balloon. As I looked out I felt butterflies in my tummy, but as we were looking down, I was suprised to see Mickey Mouse! I immediately wanted the balloon to land so I could get his autograph. From the balloon we saw an enormous rollercoaster which was almost as high as our hot air balloon! It was absolutely awsome!

Reply
Mrs Dodds
7/10/2013 06:00:23 am

Wow what a lovely day that sounds. We'll done Grace

Reply
Jamie
8/10/2013 05:56:02 am

I like the way you have described what it felt like at each part of the journey and you have used a few simalies to make it more interesting. Have you really been to disney land?like it!

Reply
Grace
10/10/2013 06:24:11 am

Yes I have been to Disney land it was great I went a few years ago. Thanks for the comment too!

Zoe
8/10/2013 04:35:19 pm

I really enjoyed reading that Grace have you been to Dinsney land ?

Reply
Grace
10/10/2013 06:15:50 am

Yes I have been to Disney land and it was amazing thanks for the lovely comment

Jamie
7/10/2013 04:29:09 am

On my birthday I was surprised to know that I was going in a hot air balloon for a trip around Durham.So I awoke early in the morning in excitement looking forward to my trip so we went to the field in which the hot air balloon was then we got in the basket where we would stand as the balloon was filled with hot air and it took its shape, our pilot controlled the air. we began to lift from the ground I was exited looking down I was surprised to see how small Brandon looked .

Reply
Mrs Dodds
7/10/2013 06:02:30 am

This sounds like a fantastic birthday surprise. I wonder what the balloon would sound like as it lifted into the air?

Reply
Miss Hemmings
7/10/2013 08:09:43 am

Have you ever been in a hot air balloon Jamie? You have certainly imagined what it would be like. I like the way you included the phrase Mrs Dodds had set as your challenge. Well done.

Reply
Zoe
9/10/2013 01:13:54 am

I enjoyed reading that good story.

Grace
10/10/2013 06:26:08 am

I would be really exited too, good work!

Reply
Adam
7/10/2013 05:59:01 am

One day I was asked to go to a zoo so we went at 8:00 am and we got to stand in a komodo dragons pen it was really scary next we went into the creepy crawlies place where we saw beetles,ants and venomous spiders.We had some lunch then we looked at lions,tigers and polar bears.After that went to feed the baby chimpanzee looking down I was suprised to see a baby racoon hanging off my trousers it was really funny . The man asked me if I wanted to take it home to look after I was so excited it was an amzing day.

Reply
Mrs Dodds
7/10/2013 06:05:54 am

I'd love a baby raccoon but I don't think my dogs would. This sounds like a lovely day we'll done

Reply
Ben
8/10/2013 01:19:56 am


Today is my birthday when I looked out the window I was surprised to see a huge hot air balloon in my garden. I quickly ran upstairs to put my clothes on .When I came back down the stairs to see that my mam and dad were ready to go.I quickly got my shoes on then I quickly jumped into the hot air balloon. at first is was afraid after 5 minutes I was alright . I was relived that it dropped me of at my favorite food place Frankie and Bennie's after that we went to south shields's and went on all the rides.After that we went home and had some divine chocolate fudge cake

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 04:43:12 am

Well done Ben this would be a fantastic birthday present. Remember to read your writing through to check that it makes sense and that place names have capital letters.

Reply
Brian
11/10/2013 12:38:07 am

Nice story Ben I hope you saved some of that chocolate fudge cake for me

Reply
Sol
8/10/2013 02:39:50 am

One day while walking down the street I saw a hot air balloon coming into land. So I wandered down to check it out. When I got there the passengers were getting out. I quickly asked if I could have a go, they said I could so I climbed into the basket. As I was flying high looking down, I was surprised to see how small everyone was. The further up I went the smaller the people were. All too soon It was over, time to land. It was a thrilling ride and one I would enjoy to do again!

Reply
Jamie
8/10/2013 06:01:26 am

Very good use of imagination quite intresting you described exacly how you felt at each point,I enjoyed reading it.

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 04:45:46 am

Lovely writing you've used some good sentence openers. Next time try to add some detail about what you could hear or smell.

Reply
Zoe and Emily
12/10/2013 02:50:15 am

We enjoyed reading that sol well done

Reply
Zoe
8/10/2013 04:01:31 am

It was a sunny day ,then I had a phone call it was my gran she was so excited and she said I won at the bingo and I got £500 they also gave me a free trip on a hot air balloon . She also told me that she is allowed to take 1 person she asked me and I said yes ! The next day I was getting ready but I could not stop smiling , then my dad shouted come on Zoe we are going to be late . when we arrived in the field the hot air balloon was ready for me and gran we were in the air as quick as a flash.I looked down and the land looked very small I told my gran it looks like a jigsaw .We were going down once we hit the ground we got out and got in the car me and my gran fell asleep and my dad started to laugh.

Reply
mrs j leach
9/10/2013 12:21:12 am

i really enjoyed this story , well done zoe xx

Reply
Mr Temple from Tanfield Lea
9/10/2013 04:37:41 am

What a memorable thing to spend bingo winnings on! I love the description of the ground as a jigsaw. I will show your 100 wc to my class at 6tanfieldlea.weebly.com.

Well done year 5 and Mrs Dodds - great blogging.

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 04:48:15 am

Wow what a lovely way to spend the day with your gran. Remember to check your writing for capital letters.

Grace
10/10/2013 06:18:50 am

That sounds really fun I would like to have £500! I enjoyed reading the story.

Reply
Mason
8/10/2013 06:34:57 pm

Last year on my Mams Birthday my Dad paid for her and all of the family to goand have a ride in a hot air baloon around the Durham area . The day started when we had to go where the baloon took of from it was a beautiful day to my surprise the baloon was a bright red colour. The trip took us slowley over many areas of County Durham past many landmarks like Durham Cathedral the Castle and many outher things . When we got home after haveing such an amazing adventure we ate some of my mums delicous birthday cake.

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 04:50:11 am

What a lovely birthday treat for mum, you have used some lovely vocabulary well done.

Reply
KatieC
8/10/2013 09:01:07 pm

This morning as I was thinking what prompt to set you, a hot air balloon floated across the roof tops opposite the shops. When I saw the hot air balloon I thought to my self I want to go on a hot air balloon. So I looked on my laptop were the nearest hot air balloon place is so I asked my mam if she could drive me there so she did and she wanted to go on one to. A few minutes later we were there and we had to wait a long time but we eventually had our turn looking down I was surprised to see my house and lots of fields. It was a great experience.

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 04:52:30 am

Well done Katie you have used some lovely sentence openers. Next time try and add some description about sounds you could hear.

Reply
Amy
9/10/2013 01:38:18 am

When I went to Flamingo Land I went on a hot air balloon ride it was amazing when I was looking down I was surprised to see a lion running free but the zoo keeper was chasing it. Sadly there was a lion show on and she was the best at it, but the zoo show had to go. When we had to get off the amazing hot air balloon I was sad because I loved it but we enjoyed the show. After we went on the hero ride it was scary but fun then I went home. The day was fun.

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 07:59:18 pm

This sounds like it was a lovely day, although I am a bit scared about a lion running free.

Reply
dior
9/10/2013 02:44:36 am


Me and my famiely got in to the car and set off. We did not arrive for about 30 minutes.
I got to the big field then lined up. My dad stayed with me because I could only have on person as well as the piolet. when i was up in the air i saw my brothers, sisters, and nana. Looking down I was suprised to see they looked like ants. I started to get a bit scared and so we went down to the ground. After that we all went into a famiely baloon. It was so fun.

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 08:00:39 pm

A great try Dior please remember 'i should be I', take time to check your work through before submitting it.

Reply
Xavier
9/10/2013 03:35:20 am

One day my friend and I where going for a hot air balloon ride. Once we got to the fairground we got on the balloon. Once we got on we started to get higher and higher looking down, I was surprised to see all the houses lined up like on a miniature railway and when I saw the people they looked like ants and the ants looked like even smaller ants. When we started to get a bit further away from the fair I saw things like majestic golden eagles, the sandy yellow sun filling the sky with happiness and I have never seen something so beautiful since.

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 08:02:10 pm

Well done Xavier I really like the way you refer to the houses as those on a miniature railway. Great use of description.

Reply
Mia
25/10/2013 08:02:41 pm

Hi Xarier I liked your story it was very good.

Reply
Matthew
9/10/2013 03:39:40 am

In July this year me, my mam, dad, grandma and grandad went on holiday to Majorca for 2 weeks. It was very hot and we loved playing in the pool every day. One day we decided to go on a trip and we all decided we should go on a hot air balloon ride, as we seen the balloon go over our hotel every night. When we arrived at the field where the balloon was to take off I was surprised at how small the basket was. Once up in the air looking down, I was surprised to see our hotel and people waving up at us. We all had a fantastic day.

Reply
Zoe
9/10/2013 04:23:01 pm

Well done Matthew I enjoyed reading that have you been to Majorca before?

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 08:05:55 pm

Well done sounds like you had a lovely holiday. Remember that seen should be saw. How did it feel being in such a small basket?

Reply
Grace
10/10/2013 06:21:49 am

Awsome work Matthew, it sounded like a good holiday!

Reply
Emily
9/10/2013 04:14:46 am

One summers day I was bored in the house watching the TV on a hot air balloon channel I thought to myself I might go on a hot air balloon. I got tickets and I was so exited I got on it was wobbly like a jelly at fist then I got stable he pulled the lever and fire went up I has butterfly's in my tummy. I looking down and I was surprised to see that from ground my house is gigantic! But it is tiny from up in the sky I went passed some beautiful places like a zoo I saw all the animals and took pictures sooner or later we started to go down it was really fun but I was disappointed because we were stopping we hit the ground and we landed in London! I had a fun time there then when it got dark I went back ion the train and told everybody all about it.

Reply
Zoe
9/10/2013 04:21:22 pm

I enjoyed reading that Emily good story

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 08:08:00 pm

Great work Emily you have some lovely description I especially like the comment about it being wobbly like jelly, well done.

Reply
Abbie
9/10/2013 04:34:54 am

I once woke up thinking I should trying something new like going up high then told my self it should be not too high just in the middle so then I thought of a hot air balloon. I was so excited. The next day I woke up got dressed then off I went. It was so amazing you could see the beautiful view from up high, before I went on I asked my friends if they would go somewhere high so when I was going up I could wave at them. When I landed I was so proud of myself but when we got home I told everyone what happened.

Reply
Mrs Dodds
9/10/2013 08:09:56 pm

Well done Abbie I'm pleased you seem to have conqured a fear. Next time could you describe some of the things you saw or heard.

Reply
emily
9/10/2013 05:08:57 am

Abbie I really like your story:-)

Reply
mrs richardson
9/10/2013 11:06:09 am

Love reading your work everyone. Instead of watching use run around the yard on a dinner time

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author
    We are 5ZD at Brandon Primary School in County Durham. We are using this blog to extend our creative writing skills, and to demonstrate to a wider audience how fabulous we are!


    Categories

    All